Skip to content

WOAH!

Wo-ah-Wo-ha!

I agree with Nathan Badley about 2011 sucking and what´s the point of reviewing the year that past. But as an exercise to recover my own memory damaged by the use and abuse of certain substances and Gossip Girl (am guilty) I will review both 2011 and 2012.

2011: Things that happened:

JANUARY: Got a job as a tour guide in Berlin. It was so cold, that  the rush of speaking in front of 30 people crowds vanished, and some of my tourists got drunk on gluhwein, wich made it even easier. Became friends with Martin and he never taught me to play drums nor German, but he is my lil German bro.

FEBRUARY: It got even colder and I learnt any possible fact about the nazis. Also worked at the Berlin Film fest as a translator, in front this time, of 200 people crowds, go figure. Closed the bar where the closing party for the film fest took place and where I met Marta. At the ladies restroom line speaking fake Portuguese. Bright Tradeshow and Vane came with the Carhartt Team. Hooray.

MARCH: Saw Allan McGee at In-Edit film festival, and became friends with Sam.

APRIL: I learnt everything there is to learn about street-art and graffiti, my love for Berlin kept growing as my knowledge of German language kept decreasing. Now it´s officially in the dumpsters. Also learnt lots about the World…THE WORLD, thanks to Wikileaks and could  hack some corporate sites full of shite. Then the Arab Spring raised. One year in Berlin anniversary, and went to my sis in law thesis defense on some cells or something, thank god it had pictures and 2D animations with plenty of colours. Saw my family and friends after almost one year. Also made this happen for my beautiful friend and even better artist Karla Marie, and thanks to my other beautiful friend and amazing artist Joanna. Scandinavia all the way.

MAY: Millions of people took the main square of Madrid, my hometown, and revolution spreaded following the Arab Spring with the Indignado movement, on 15M-15th of May. Never seen in the history of sold out Spain. We took Brandenburg Tor as well. Manuel came by surprise for a weekend.

JUNE: Still can´t write properly.

JUNE: We were hoping for summer to come, instead I got allergy and then rain. Had lots of fun with Tim, Sam, Jonny and other workmates and friends.

JULY:  Summer was here, meaning rain and cold. Romina and Victor came visit. And i loved it. Wished they live here with all their cats. Learnt all there is to learn about Prussia. Staches included. Epic Tour de France, with the Tour de France crew!. Went to Ibiza to visit my parents and my dog, and also relax. Yes, relax.

AUGUST: Vane and Coffee came and stayed for a month of fun and esvaismal. Good nights at Dilemma and remarkable birthday bash (GOD am aging, why didn´t you tell me anything? ) at Wowsville with friends. Half of my baking tools are still there. Maybe I will get it next year.

SEPTEMBER: Left Schoneberg and moved to Neukolln, mistake. My bike got stolen. Still can´t write. Bought my ticket to fly to the States. Pec came visit and we lived like rockstars, and we hanged out with the rockstars. Then I miss her endlessly, and wished she lived here with el grillo.

OCTOBER: My mother came visit, we finally had some summer weather. Mid october left for almost three months to travel the USA. Went to San Francisco, visited my friends in California. And finally made it to Big Sur. Not in the bucket anymore. Still didn´t manage to surf, and still can´t write. I embraced my hobo ways and saw the L.A. family after more than 10 years. I love California. I am California.

NOVEMBER: Bought a Greyhound pass, and greyhounded all of the U.S. south, from L.A to Phoenix, to El Paso, to San Antonio and then Austin. Probably one of my favourite places in USA. Went to Fun Fun Fun Fest, got drank, fought, defied the law and the law…didn´t see me. Then greyhounded all the way to Denver, and stayed in Boulder, hiked a little, never made it to the Rockies (although I saw them) just to leave the happy life behind yet again in another greyhound bus through Utah, icy Wyoming all the way to Boise, Idaho. Travelled through Idaho, up to Coeur d´Alene with Mr. Rat. Was amazed, and then we almost die in the snow. Got back to Seattle.

DECEMBER: I have lived in Seattle, not doing much. Went to a writing workshop and still don´t know how to write. But I allow myself to fail at it, also at losing weight,  and quitting smoking. Build up my own webpage to have a side tours project, a backup plan doing different tours  than the ones I normally do with a big company, also as a freelance. Bought a hybrid roadie for 40bucks. Didn´t join Occupy Seattle. Bought a pair of glasses after a year isolated in sight and speech, to lose them in ten days. Covered the whole city of Seattle with my face.

Basically it´s been the year of learning, revolution, determination, self-discovery, image and age crisis and that kind of  tedious crap. Sometimes sweet and dandy, sometimes a bit difficult. Ups and downs. Never dull, lacking of routine and discipline, overboard with colour.

GIGS:  no specific order: The Oh Sees (x2), Za!, the orchestra man that we ended up on stage with, Black Hearts Procession, Clap Your Hands and Say Yeah!, Public Enemy, Scratch Acid, Death before Dishonor, Chelsea Wolfe, Suede, Primal Scream, Russian Circles…and am forgetting some more that I can´t remember…so I guess I was either not my best self, or those bands were not their best selves.

MOUNTAINS: Flatirons, Rockies, Mt. Rainier. Seen them, just hiked the first ones.

NEXT 2012 POST ON…well 2012.

Loads of love and best wishes, please DON´T DRINK AND DRIVE.

xxx

L

UPDATE: This man seems really smart, so listen to him…THE WORLD IS NOT ENDING DEC 21st 2012.

